Compositions by Bill Alves

Information about Falling Light for percussion quartet

Instrumentation: Player 1: marimba; player 2: marimba, wine glasses; player 3: vibraphone, tam-tam; player 4: vibraphone

Duration: c. 7:00

Falling Light is for four percussionists, playing mostly mallet instruments. It's structure is largely built on processes of additive and subtractive rhythms and pitch sets, note exchange, and hocketing. It was commissioned by the Santa Monica Arts Council in conjunction with the Independent Composers Association of Los Angeles.

Major Performances:

Back to my list of compositions

Updated on September 18, 1995, by Bill Alves (